FamBam

Nice to Meet You

Hi there,

I’m Emily. You can call me Em. Or Emma. Or Emily. Or really whatever you want.  I’ve been writing for as long as I can remember. Fun fact: this is my third blog. I had a blog in my early high school days. I kept it like a diary. I had a blog that I made I think sometime in my senior year of high school or after I graduated. I don’t really remember. And now I have this one. Third one’s a charm, right?

I guess I should say a little something about myself. I’m a senior in college (also my third one–guess you could say I’m indecisive!) studying neuroscience. I tell people I want to be an occupational therapist and work with mentally disabled children and adults. In reality, – or truly, unrealistically – I want to run my own coffee shop. I think it would be the coolest thing ever. I could bake the daily pastries, make people happy all day by giving them coffee, and make myself happy by doing what I want. But it’s hard work owning your own business and I don’t know if I’m ready for that.

My parents own a flower shop that my mom has ran since the day it opened in 1984. Our main income was always the flower shop. As you can imagine, it wasn’t the most profitable business and as I grew up, money was never plentiful in our house. We always had what we needed, and when I was younger, before the recession hit, our Christmas gifts were always normal. By normal I mean, each of us three kids got all that we wanted, as long as it was within reasonable means. My dad used to be a stock broker, or an insurance guy–something like that–but he quit his job when I was probably three or four and tried running his own financial business, which never really worked out. Anyways, watching my parents run their own shop, especially my mom because let’s be real, she’s the one who does everything, has been a challenge. As a kid, I always knew I would never have the next big thing or have brand name clothes. I was lucky when we went shopping at the beginning of the school year during Memorial Day weekend. And that pile of clothes had to basically last me through the next year. I think we might have done a small Spring clothes shopping trip, but we only ever got a few things. Plus, my mom has always been really good about scoring raging deals. Getting back to the point, watching my parents struggle to make ends meet was never a fun thing as a kid. I hated it. And I never want to put my own kids through the same thing nor do I really want to go through it myself. My parents never EVER talked about their financial situation to us. Which is good. But even so, we still felt the stress, especially as we grew older and realized that things were even less rosy than we thought. And if we, as kids, felt that financial stress, I can only imagine how stressful that is to be the parent and have offspring depending on you to provide for them. I respect my parents so much for all they’ve been through.

So there’s a little background story. It’s super unorganized but I’m supposed to be studying right now, so I’m not gonna organize it. I’ve procrastinated long enough!

Good night world!

Childhood is the most beautiful of all of life’s seasons.

Leave a Reply

